splashed

Not too long ago, I was “splashed” by the lovely and fabulous Thirty-Something Bride.  TSB, thank you so much!  I have secretly been longing to be splashed or to receive some sort of blog awad, so I now feel validated!  🙂

Here are a few blogs that I think are great for various reasons:

1. Little Spoon, Big Spoon This is a site where these two engaged love birds are doing something that’s rarely seen…they’re both blogging.  And it seems to be pretty equal blogging.  It’s refreshing and endering to hear both sides as they walk this path called engagement.

2. McKinney-Oates Cereal I splash this blog because it is so higly amusing.  Marie’s witty writing captures a lot of what the day-to-day life in the married world is like.  A little ridiculous, pretty simple and a lot of heart.

3. The Perfect Pallette This blog is inspirational and so easy to use!  It’s set up for brides to scroll through and get inspired by various color combinations and examples of how to use them in fantastic ways.  And, even though it’s set up for weddings, it can be used for ANYTHING!  The husband and I may be getting a house soon, and I’ve been using it for interior decorating inspiration!

4. Misadventures of a Newlywed It’s funny, timely, hearfelt and honest.  AND, she has Menu Mondays where you can get ideas to get out eating (and eventually loathing) the same 6 dishes all the time.  She’s shared about her faulty uterus and the surgery she went though and her recovery.  And through all that, she’s positive and funny and honest.  I love it.

5. Gekd Boutique She’s a wedding planner and designer of all things wedding.  Her blog has a lot of great inspiration.  My favorite thing about it is that she has playlist entries where she posts wonderful wedding songs WITH all the lyrics.  It’s something I haven’t seen done before and think is just wonderful

There’s one blog that I want to put on my list, after much debate.  It’s a hugely popular blog.  The woman who writes it  is also a best-selling author and she and her husband live off the money her blog makes.

A little note about me: I tend to be one of those people that doesn’t want to do the super “popular” thing.  But, eventually, I do.  I didn’t want to read The DaVinci Code.  After much balking, I did.  I didn’t want to get an iPod. So I got a Zen.  Don’t have an iPod, but wouldn’t be opposed to one.  And, the big one, I did NOT want to read the Harry Potter books.  I didn’t start them until the 4th one was out.  And now, I can’t talk enough about how amazing, heartbreaking and magical they are.

So, this blog.  I was told about this blog by a friend.  When I first went on, I only saw crude things (I am not opposed to crude.  I often got laughs on the Second City LA stage being crude), but I didn’t see how it could be so popular.  Her bio seemed egotostical.  I was put off.  Then, I noticed she was about to have a baby, so I started to read since the hubby and I are planning to start trying in the fall.  As I read, I was fascinated with the detail.  Then, she had her baby.  And her posts were amazingly touching, honest, very…well…human.  Her posts with the photos of her dog are hilarious.  I know she won’t ever know I splashed her.  And I still have this weird thing about helping out the “already popular” (maybe because I was such a nerd in middle school!), but there is a reason she is read by so many.  So, I splash dooce.com.

I’m sure there are more, but I wanted to make sure I got this post out!

The Splash Award is given to alluring, amusing, bewitching, impressive and inspiring blogs. When you receive this award you must:

1. Put the logo on your blog or post.
2. Nominate up to 9 blogs which allure, amuse, bewitch, impress or inspire you.
3. Be sure to link to your nominees within your post.
4. Let your nominees know that they have been splashed by commenting on their blog
