I celebrated my one-year anniversary on April 27th.  It was on a Monday, which is much less exciting than a Saturday, but I’m a big stickler for celebrating ON the day.  (And, yes, I was married on a Sunday.  It’s cheaper!) My husband had to work all day so I figured that I would take myself to the spa for a pedicure and various waxing treatments.  If we couldn’t celebrate together, I was certainly going to celebrate on my own until he joined the party.

From there, I drove myself 45 minutes to the oh-so-wonderful Maples Wedding Cakes where the fantastic Jay had re-created the top of my our wedding cake for me us.  At $55 it was a little more than I was expecting to pay, but my anniversary came on the heels of my wedding dress realization (see: Sticking with your intuition – that thing we call your gut), so I was all about doing what I wanted and that you only get one one-year anniversary, so, keeping in mind some kind of budget, just go for it.

On my way back, I stopped into a cute little boutique, the Daisy Chain, here in Cool Springs to find myself a dress.  In the same dress-realization vein as aforementioned, I had decided weeks beforehand that I must have a new dress and it was very likely to be white and very likely to be girly and more along the lines of what I would have gone for with my wedding dress.  Now, I’m not totally off the deep end.  I’m well aware that getting a full-on wedding dress looking dress would be a bit absurd.  And, like I mentioned in the other post, I have plans to get THAT dress and go to Bali where we shall renew our vows in tropical wedded bliss.

As I was trying on dress after dress at the Daisy Chain, I came across two that I liked.  My first instinct was to call my mother and describe, in great detail, each dress and how it looked and how I felt in it and how I felt it would work for the evening and how my husband would like or dislike or not really notice said dresses.  Then, I stopped myself.  I said, much like the kid in the Neverending Story has to put his peanut butter and jelly sandwich down because he has a long way to go (not sure how related that is, but I like it), I said, “Nope.  The deal with the wedding dress is that you were too influenced by what your parents thought.  This time, I’ll pick the one I want.”  This is the dress I went with:

One Year Anniversary Dress

There’s a lot happening with that dress, but I really love it.  It’s super fun. AND, I can wear it again!  Which justified the money I spent.

OK, onwards.  I knew my hubby wouldn’t really be doing much being that he’s got a new job and is working 12-hour days, so I figured I’d have to make pretty and romantic decorations myself.  I didn’t have the time to go nuts, so I just decorated our kitchen table with our champagne glasses from the wedding (or, toasting flutes, as many of the magazines call them) and our cake knife and server, and just to make it even more special, I put out the marbles and candles that we had, too.  Here’s what it looked like:

Anniversary Table

It was cute and it made me smile.  Then, I hopped in the shower and got ready for our evening.  We went to get sushi in downtown Nashville.  It was a little too fusion-y for me, but it was still pretty good.  Then we came home!  And that was about it!

I purposefully didn’t create a lot of expectations for our anniversary.  I mean, I wanted it to be special, but I didn’t want to be disappointed.  We’ve both been so busy with so many things, and I knew I didn’t get to do a few of the things I wanted to and I know he didn’t either.  I knew I wanted the cake, a new dress and some sushi.  And some quality time with my love.  And that’s what I got. I kind of wanted to dance to our wedding song, but that didn’t happen and that’s okay.  I’ve had plenty of occasions where I’ve created expectations that were way too high and I just ended up miserable.  I kept it simple and focused on us and it was lovely.  Still planning that trip to Bali, though…

